ABO Announces Newly Certified/Recertified Orthodontists

The American Board of Orthodontics (ABO) certified or recertified 229 orthodontists during the first and second quarters of 2022, including the February 2022 Scenario-Based Clinical Examination. ABO Board Certification is a voluntary credential that represents an orthodontist’s personal and public commitment to the standards of specialty practice and lifelong learning.

Attaining first-time ABO certification requires successful completion of the Written Examination and then the Clinical Examination. Orthodontists gaining recertification must successfully complete the Recertification Examination and requirements.

“On behalf of The American Board of Orthodontics, I congratulate these orthodontists on successfully completing ABO certification or certification renewal,” said Dr. David Sabott, ABO 2021-2022 president. “Their accomplishment in becoming board-certified attests to their commitment to serve and protect the public by delivering excellent orthodontic care.”

The ABO currently represents 58% of AAO membership.

To learn more about ABO certification and the Scenario-Based Clinical Examination, visit The website offers information about the Clinical and Written Examinations, including study aids and registration information.

The following newly certified or recertified orthodontists are listed regionally by the constituent society of the American Association of Orthodontists.

Northeastern Society of Orthodontists

Dr. Mohamed Abulgasim Abdulati

Dr. Talia Aboud

Dr. Aliaa Al-khateeb

Dr. Ross Aronson

Dr. Elizabeth Clanaman

Dr. Mihail A. Cotzas

Dr. Amanda Hayes

Dr. Evan Hertan

Dr. Tania Jhamb

Dr. Edmund S. Khoo

Dr. Ki Youn Kil

Dr. Matthew J. Miller

Dr. Soraya C. Mills

Dr. Brian D. Patterson

Dr. Daniel Regan

Dr. Melanie Ross

Dr. Bradley E. Schnebel

Dr. Theodore Daniel Schwab

Dr. Taylor Squires

Dr. Jessica Thayer