ABO Update


Dr. Leslie Will Receives the 2024 O.B. Vaughan Special Recognition Award from The American Board of Orthodontics

The American Board of Orthodontics (ABO) has named Leslie A. Will, D.M.D., M.S.D., of Boston, as the recipient of the 2024 O.B. Vaughan Special Recognition Award

Dr. P. Emile Rossouw Installed as Secretary-Treasurer of The American Board of Orthodontics

The American Board of Orthodontics (ABO) installed P. Emile Rossouw, B.Ch.D, M.Ch.D., Ph.D., of Rochester, N.Y., as secretary-treasurer for the year beginning May 6, 2024.

The other 2024-2025 officers of the ABO are Jae Hyun Park, D.M.D., M.S.D., M.S., Ph.D., of Phoenix, Ariz., president; Roberto Hernández Orsini, D.M.D., M.P.H., M.S., of Juana Díaz, Puerto Rico, president-elect; and Timothy S. Trulove, D.M.D., M.S., of Montgomery, Ala., immediate past president.

The ABO directors are responsible for establishing policy concerning the board certification of specialists in orthodontics. Each ABO director represents one of the eight constituent organizations of the AAO and serves an eight-year term, which culminates in the position of president. During his tenure as an ABO director, Dr. Rossouw has represented the Northeastern Society of Orthodontists (NESO). As secretary-treasurer, Dr. Rossouw, is chair of the Written Committee and a member of the Executive and Policy Committees.

Dr. Rossouw is chair of the Division of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics at the Eastman Institute for Oral Health, which is part of the University of Rochester Medical Center. He brings a 40-year career of accomplished teaching, research and clinical care.

Prior to joining the Eastman Institute in 2015, Dr. Rossouw was professor and chair of the orthodontics department at the University of North Carolina for five years. He previously chaired the orthodontic department at the Baylor College of Dentistry of Texas A&M University from 2002 to 2010. Prior to that, he was orthodontic department chair at the University of Toronto from 1993 to 2000 and director of the university’s Burlington Growth Centre from 2000 to 2002.

A native of South Africa, Dr. Rossouw obtained his undergraduate and dental degrees from the University of Stellenbosch. He then earned advanced degrees in pediatric dentistry and orthodontics before receiving his Ph.D. in dental science, also from the University of Stellenbosch.

He remained at the university as a faculty member and clinical orthodontist before being appointed associate professor and head of the Department of Orthodontics at Stellenbosch in 1989 (promoted to full professor in 1992), where he remained before moving to the University of Toronto.

Dr. Rossouw has held ABO certification since 2007. He also has an orthodontic specialty certificate from Baylor College of Dentistry in 2006.

Besides the AAO and NESO, he is a member of the College of Diplomates of the ABO, the American Dental Association, the Charles H. Tweed Foundation for Orthodontic Research, the Edward H. Angle Society of Orthodontists North Atlantic component and the Royal College of Dentists of Canada. Dr. Rossouw has served the AAO as a member of the Council on Orthodontic Education (COE), the Planning and Awards Review Committee (PARC) and the Council on Scientific Affairs (COSA). He also has been a member of the ADA Scientific Committee on Dental Products.

His published works range through the areas of clinical orthodontics, biomaterials, jaw growth and long-term stability. Dr. Rossouw, who has lectured nationally and internationally, has contributed more than 200 publications to the dental literature, which include scientific articles, book chapters and abstracts. He also serves on the reviewing panels for various leading orthodontic and general dentistry journals.

NEW! Board Certified Orthodontists from NESO

Dr. Ahmad E. Asbita Ahmida

Dr. Ashleigh Alex

Dr. Fadi Ankah

Dr. Julie Bergeron

Dr. Amanda Bonser

Dr. Saahil Devendra Brahmbhatt

Dr. Allyson Brennan

Dr. Seung Young Cha

Dr. Cindy Chay

Dr. Susie Chen-Kollali

Dr. Yoo Sun Kate Chung

Dr. Taylor R. Finn

Dr. Alice J. Golden

Dr. Ashley Goldenberg

Dr. Charlotte Marie Guerrera

Dr. Hussein K. Haji

Dr. Shadi Haykani

Dr. Emilio Roberto Hernandez

Dr. Fatemah Husain

Dr. Syed Rassal Hussain

Dr. Kateryna Huz

Dr. Maria Jividen

Dr. Daniel Kim

Dr. Alyssa Kotin

Dr. Mythilee Kugathasan

Dr. Austin Austin Le

Dr. Nicole Chen Liu

Dr. Ronald Joseph Lowe III

Dr. Nafisa Molla

Dr. Navinder Kaur Nat

Dr. Parandis Nejati

Dr. Katelyn Debra Pan

Dr. Sumer Panesar

Dr. Adriana M. Parra Barillas

Dr. Christina Marie Peters

Dr. Cassandra Marie Pinkerous

Dr. Deepa Ramasamy

Dr. Lily Razavi

Dr. Ivet Romero Vazquez

Dr. Kirk Round

Dr. Daisy Carolina Salazar

Dr. Halle Schaf

Dr. Jamie Silverberg

Dr. Christopher Sohn

Dr. Julia Solarewicz

Dr. Youngjae Sung

Dr. Elisha Taavar

Dr. Mark Ziggy Vrana

Dr. Mariam Zade

Dr. Kristopher Lee Zamora