NESO Welcomes New Board Members

NESO welcomes Drs. Sercan Akyalcin and Chris Murphy to to the Board of Directors!

Dr. Sercan Akyalcin serves on the Council of Education (COE).

Dr. Akyalcin received his training from the Orthodontic Program at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston. Currently, he serves as the director of the advanced education program of Orthodontics at Tufts University School of Dental Medicine in Boston/MA. In his career as a dental educator and orthodontist, he has published more than 50 peer-reviewed papers, eight book chapters, co-authored an orthodontic textbook, and has received many prestigious awards including the American Association of Orthodontists Full-time Faculty and American Association of Orthodontists Foundation Fellowship and Biomedical Research Awards. He serves actively on the editorial review board of The Angle Orthodontist, The American Journal of Orthodontics, and some other prominent dental journals. Dr. Akyalcin has been honored as an invited speaker at many national and international meetings.

Dr. Chris Murphy serves on the Council on Membership, Ethics and Judicial Concerns (COMEJC).

Dr. Murphy graduated magna cum laude with a bachelor’s of science in Biology from the Providence College liberal arts honors program and earned his dental degree from the University of Connecticut. He continued his specialty training in orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics at the University of Connecticut. As a dental student and resident, Dr. Murphy received numerous awards for academic achievement, clinical excellence and community involvement. He serves as the treasurer of the Maine Dental Association, has spoken at numerous national conferences and has had several articles published related to accelerating tooth movement, decreasing orthodontic treatment times and the role of biomechanics in orthodontic therapy.