The College of Diplomates Announces New Officers and Councilors


The College of Diplomates of the American Board of Orthodontics installed new officers and a new councilor during its Annual Meeting held July 17-21, 2009 at The American Club Resort in Kohler, Wisconsin.

The College installed Dr. Philip Markin of Columbia, Maryland as president; Dr. Dorothy Whalen of Glen Cove, New York as president-elect; Dr. Jim Morrow of McKinney, Texas as secretary; Dr. Rodney Hyduk of Troy, Michigan as treasurer; Dr. Robert Moss of Albany, Georgia as senior councelor and Dr. Kenneth M. Hrechka of Oxon Hill, Maryland as junior councilor. Dr. Kimsey Anderson of Albuquerque, New Mexico and Dr. Michael Guess of El Dorado Hills, California will continue to serve on the College Council. Dr. Tucker Haltom of Albuquerque, New Mexico was honored for his contributions as 2008-2009 president and will continue to serve on the council as the immediate past president.

Dr. Richard Ridgley of Asheville, North Carolina received the Award of Merit for his outstanding contributions to the College of Diplomates’ education program to prepare students and orthodontists for board certification.

Dr. Walter Buchsieb of New Albany, Ohio was named honorary chair of the 2009 Annual Meeting for his dedication and leadership example to the College.

The College dedicated the 2009 Annual Meeting to Dr. Richard “Wick” Alexander of Arlington, Texas, one of the specialty’s great teachers and innovators in orthodontics.

The 2010 College of Diplomates’ Annual Meeting will be July 14-18, 2010 at the Samoset Resort in Rockport, Maine. Registration materials will be mailed to members next spring.

The College of Diplomates was founded in 1979 to stimulate improvement among orthodontists, to encourage orthodontists to become board-certified and to educate the public and the dental profession on the benefits of board certification.

For additional information, please contact the College by phone at 636-922-5551, e-mail at or by visiting the College’s Web site at